Southwestern Indiana's Catholic Community Newspaper

Serra Club Honors Local Eighth-graders For Vocations Projects

The Message photo by Trisha Hannon Smith


The Serra Club honored 34 eighth-graders from 17 Evansville-area parishes during the annual Vocation Awareness Luncheon on Nov. 6 at the Catholic Center in Evansville. The event coincides with National Vocation Awareness Week, which was held Nov. 5-11, and recognizes students for creating projects that focus on various vocations.




Each year, the Serra Club invites students in Evansville-area parishes to create vocations-related projects. Students whose projects are selected for recognition attend the luncheon and receive awards from the Serra Club. Students are joined by their parents, principals, teachers, religious educators and pastors at the event.

Serra Club president John East welcomed honored guests to the event.  Father Bernie Etienne, administrator of the Diocese of Evansville, presented opening remarks, presented awards and posed for photos with the winners. Winning projects ranged in size and scope and included student-created essays, posters, board games, children’s books, paintings, wood carvings and graphic designs.

Steve Dabrowski, Director of Youth and Young Adult Ministry for the Diocese of Evansville, gave the keynote address, encouraging all in attendance to change the way they think about vocation.

“Vocation is not just a call,” Dabrowski said. “If you focus only on call, you miss the message.  Calls are how things start and beginnings of things are always shallow and ill-defined.  In vocation, God wants to lead us to lead us to that which most fulfills us. My definition of vocation is simply the path on which God knows we will be most fulfilled.”

East closed the luncheon with leading attendees in praying the prayer to St. Junipero Serra.



2017 Serra Club Winners:

Corpus Christi

Morgan Wilmes

Isabelle Koch


Good Shepherd

Sophia Kleiman

Annie Tenbarge


Holy Cross

Kevin Baehl

Ryan Holzmeyer


Sts Peter & Paul

Chloe Field

Loren Stoll


Holy Redeemer

Julie Ann Heldman

Anna Katherine Wampler


Holy Rosary

Jacob Hirsch

Jenna Bersch

Jack Nichols


Holy Spirit

Eymi Roblero  

Cydney Wathen


St Benedict Cathedral

Alec Sloan

Cullen Feldhaus

Evelyn Clements


St. Boniface

Corinna Myers

Austin Ross


St. James Haubstadt

Helen Kiesel

Olivia Pennington


St. Joe County

Aleilah Nisley

Nikki Mayer

St. John the Baptist

Kathryn Schadler                  

Bridget Janney                      


St. Phillip

Audrey Weiss

Alyssa Kempf


St Wendel

Olivia Schmitt

Blake Zirkelbach


St. Bernard Rockport

Emily Schulte

Haden Durnil


Christ the King

Lauren Folz

Dana Pauli



Abby Baehl

Holly Karges